2018 Shortlist announced!

FORTY FIVE teachers, governors and support workers from schools and colleges across Cornwall have been shortlisted for the Cornwall Teacher Awards 2018.

Now in its third year, there were over 1000 nominations for the awards, which recognise excellence in teaching, training and education in Cornwall.

The shortlist includes finalists from across the whole county, from St Ives to Callington.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony, held at Truro Cathedral on 4 May .  

The event is run by education marketing and PR company EMPRA.

Nikki Baron, Business Development Director at EMPRA said; "These remarkable individuals are an inspiration to us all, they are changing lives and giving young people in Cornwall incredible support and encouragement – far more than is on their job description!

“To be shortlisted is a substantial achievement, so if you know any of them, please give them your heartfelt thanks and congratulations"

The Cornwall Teacher Awards have been judged by national experts.

The shortlist:

Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by Cornwall College Group

*Special Award to be presented on the night*

Headteacher of the year - sponsored by Plymouth Marjon University

Mike Deacy                            Oak Tree School

Jan Woodhouse                    St Ives School

William Coleman                   Sennen Primary School

Outstanding Teacher of the year – sponsored by Truro & Penwith College

Rebecca Blizzard                   Brannel School

Rachel Laity                           Perranporth Community school

Kimberley Hawkings              Sir Robert Gefferys School

Outstanding NQT of the year – sponsored by University of Exeter

Daniel Morse                          Sennen Primary School

Georgia Byrt                           Brannel School

Helen Law                               Connor Downs Academy

Teaching Assistant of the year – sponsored by Schools Week

Louise Metcalf                        Carclaze School

Vicci Vaughan                        Blackwater CP School

Jacqui Fulman                        Pool Academy

School Support Worker of the year – Sponsored by ACORN

Ryan Bond                              Richard Lander School

Sammie Swabey                     Callywith College

Carole Butler                          Penair School

Student Nominated Teacher of the year – Sponsored by Plymouth University

Kate Millatt                           Brannel School

Ryan Doble                           Newquay Junior School

Daniel Wendon                     Launceston College

School Governor of the year – Sponsored by FE Week

Wendy Hattam                      Curnow School

Clive Bramley                        Pool Academy

Rachel Curnow                      Chacewater School

Special Educational Needs Teacher of the year – sponsored by Cornwall Music Service Trust

Jo Wills                                   South Petherwin School

Catherine Hooper                   Richard Lander School

Nadia Lampier                        Perranporth Community School               

FE Lecturer of the year – Sponsored by NOCN

Claire-Marie Nevill                Callywith College

Claire Trevorrow                   Truro & Penwith College

Rebecca Ball                         Duchy College

School of the year – sponsored by ICT4

Tregolls School

Penair  Secondary School

Gulval Primary School

Employer Engagement Initiative of the year – sponsored by CIOS Enterprise Adviser Programme

Stephen Maunder                 Cornwall College

Kym O’Mara                          Cornwall College

Charles Murray                     Acorn Academy        

Pupil Well-being Initiative of the year - sponsored by – Beach Schools SW

Omari Project                        Newquay Education Trust

Tregolls School                      Tregolls School

Mark Stevens                         Truro & Penwith College     

Sports Teacher of the year – sponsored by – Time2Move (Cornwall Sports Partnership)

Dan Budd                               Saltash.Net School

James Ross                            St Breock Primary School

Ryan Conroy                          Liskeard Community College

Art Teacher of the year  - sponsored by Plymouth College of Art

Tamsin Titcomb                      St Maybyn & St Tudy CofE

Harry Bosworth                      Humphry Davy School

Rohanna Gomes                     Brannel School

STEM Teacher of the year – sponsored by Eden Project

Geoff Coles                            Brannel School

Lisa Johns                              Penrice Academy

Andrew Blizzard                    Brannel School

The awards will be hosted by Trevor Lee previous MD of Cornwall & Devon Media now CEO of Trevor Lee Media.

There will be a welcome address from Lisa Mannall  - South West Regional Schools Commissioner.

Nikki Baron said; “We have had so much support from Cornwall’s education community, and from further afield – once again it’s been a brilliant experience, and we’re really looking forward to the event on the May 4th ”

2017 picture gallery


Web editor