The best of Cornwall’s educators recognised

Teaching and learning professionals working in Cornwall’s schools and colleges were given the recognition they deserved at the sparkling Cornwall Teacher Awards 2017 ceremony.

Held at Truro Cathedral, winners, nominees and guests were treated to an evening of celebration for those who have dedicated their outstanding work to positively impact Cornwall’s children and young people.

Daphne Skinnard, assistant editor at BBC Radio Cornwall hosted the event. She was both entertaining and encouraging as she kept the pace. The keynote speaker was Shane Mann managing director of LSECT and publisher of both FE Week and Schools Week newspapers.

Shane gave an inspiring speech; he explained how teachers and lecturers had supported him and described how inspiring educators had helped him to get to where he is today, aged just 27.  Shane concluded his speech saying; “Cornish teachers turn around children's lives, not government policy.”

This year, there were 13 categories of awards, including ‘Outstanding Headteacher,’ ‘Outstanding School’ and ‘Outstanding Pupil Well-being Initiative.’

To kick off the night a special Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Gary Owens principal at Acorn Academy, Penzance by West Briton head of content, Jeff Reines. The judges said: ‘In our opinion, every school needs a teacher like this!’

Gary was selected based on the positive impact he has made in all the schools he has worked in.  With 40 years’ experience he has worked in very challenging circumstances and supported numerous vulnerable pupils.

Outstanding Headteacher of the Year sponsored by The University of St Mark and St John (MarJon) went to Joanna Harvey headteacher at St Dennis Academy.  The judges concluded her the winner due to ‘her resilience and fundamental commitment to raising standards, building a team and ensuring there is fun and excitement in learning for all pupils.’ Prof. Rob Warner, vice chancellor at MarJon presented Joanna with her award.

The award for Outstanding Teacher of the Year, sponsored by Truro & Penwith College went to Lucy Goy from Redruth School. The judges said; “Mrs Goy’s subject passion, commitment to her students and humanity has shone through in this nomination.”

The Governor of The Year Award sponsored by Schools Week went to Phil Mason from the Atlantic Centre of Excellence, which has schools in Bodmin, St Agnes, St Columb and Charlestown. The judges said: ‘He has shown enormous commitment in both time and expertise and, in particular, has overcome adversity whilst taking the Trust forward, always putting the needs of the school children first.’

Outstanding NQT (newly qualified teacher) of the Year award sponsored by the University of Exeter went to Benjamin Ringrose from Mevagissey Schoolthe judges said the nomination; ‘highlighted his professionalism, high quality teaching, and positive interactions with colleagues at all levels,’ this, the judges said lead to; ‘building strong relationships with both pupils and co-workers, in a very short space of time.’

Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year category didn’t attract a sponsor this year, but keynote speaker Shane Mann was so impressed by the nominations he pledged that Schools Week would sponsor the category in 2018, he said: ‘The category is too important to lose.’

The 2017 award went to Jackie Hatton from Sir Robert Gefferys School in Saltash. The judges said:Jackie had so may fantastic things said about her it was hard to summarise, but in a nutshell everyone needs a Jackie in their school!’

Click View sponsored the Student Nominated Teacher of The Year and this year the award went to Aimee Wright from Newquay Tretherras. The judges said: The textbooks all say that good teaching is all about things like ‘adding value’ and ‘high expectations’. What’s great about this nomination is that these and other elements of good teaching are articulated not from a dusty teacher training textbook, but from a student. Aimee’s efforts to support students of different abilities has not gone un-noticed by the nominator who described how fellow students have been “transformed” through Miss Wright’s practice.

School Support worker of the Year sponsored by the event’s organisers EMPRA went to Kayley-Ann Raymond from Truro and Penwith College. The judges were looking for someone who not only does their role well, but with a passion. Who puts the student at the centre and, who goes the extra mile to provide amazing support to their colleagues and to the running of the school.

The Outstanding Special Education Needs Teacher of the Year Award was sponsored by Cornwall Music Service Trust, and went to Sophie Rollason from Truro and Penwith College. Sophie was recognised for her commitment, dedication and the outstanding impact she has made for students through the Expressive Arts curriculum, both in college and the community.

The award for Outstanding FE lecturer of the Year, sponsored by awarding organisation, NOCN went to Clive James from Truro and Penwith College.  The judges said: ‘This is someone who makes the students feel as if they have achieved something in every lesson, someone who has made a subject that is sometimes thought of as ‘dusty’, relevant to modern life and inspired their students to study the subject at University.’

School of The Year was sponsored by the Cornwall College Group and went to Trenance Learning Academy; the judges said the school: ‘provides an inspiring and innovative provision which is truly valued by all stakeholders. The welcoming ethos and ‘going above and beyond’ attitude is apparent at all levels.’

Employer Engagement Initiative of the Year award was sponsored by Cornwall & Isles of Scilly Enterprise Advisor Programme, the winner was Truro and Penwith College’s Public Services Team – the judges said: “There are several outstanding examples of how this team have worked hard to bring real life experiences into the classroom and take students out to businesses, to see how things work from theory to practice.”

The final award was one of this year’s new awards; Pupil Well-being Initiative of the Year which was awarded to Marsha May from Wadebridge Primary school. The award was sponsored by Holywell Bay Fun Park. The judges said; ‘This is a teacher who certainly went over and above her duties.  She obviously made great efforts to support this particular child through very difficult times through regular contact with the parents, she also attended a specialist course to develop her understanding of the child’s condition.’

Nikki Baron from EMPRA PR and Marketing said: “Once again the Cathedral was filled with such worthy winners – it was a fabulous and emotional evening.

“We hoped that this year’s event would be even bigger and better than last year’s, and it was – I am delighted! It’s one of those properly heartwarming events… when think back and reflect on your experience you can’t help but smile.”




Web editor