Cornwall Teacher Awards 2018 launched

CORNWALL: Teacher Awards Calls for Votes


Outstanding School of the Year, Outstanding Headteacher of the Year, Employer Engagement Initiative and Student Wellbeing Initiative of the Year are amongst the 16 categories for the next Cornwall Teacher Awards

Organisers at Cornwall Teacher Awards have announced a raft of new categories for the 2018 event, which will be held at Truro Cathedral on May 4th.

Their special guest speaker for the event is the new Regional Schools Commissioner for the South West, Lisa Mannall

Among the 16 categories spanning education and training across Cornwall are: Arts Teacher of the Year, Sports Teacher of the Year, Student Nominated Teacher of the Year, and School Governor of the Year.

Nikki Baron, one of the event organisers said: “The 2108 event promises to be even bigger and better than ever – we’re very excited about it.”

Sponsors already signed up for next year's event include: CIoS LEP’s Enterprise Advisor Programme, Truro and Penwith College, Business Cornwall , Awarding Organisation NOCN and the University of Exeter.

The event is once again supported by national publication, Schools Week. Shane Mann, managing director at Lsect owner the specialist newspaper said:

“I am so pleased that this event is going from strength to strength. Outstanding teaching and learning in our schools and colleges often goes on ‘under the radar’; the Cornwall Teacher Awards is opportunity to shine a spotlight on the extremely valuable work that goes on in classrooms across the county, we’re delighted once again be a part of this event."

If you would like to see an inspirational and outstanding teacher, lecturer, headteacher or teaching assistant, school support worker or volunteer rewarded for their contribution to learning, make a nomination for the 2018 Cornwall Teacher Awards. For more information and to vote visit

Simply view the categories and complete the entry form online, before the deadline of December 31st 2017. Visit for more information and to cast your vote.

Web editor